KidsPickFlicks Announce Nominees for 4th Annual “Pick” of the Year Awards


-The kid reviewers at announced the nominees for The 4th Annual Awards earlier this week.

Kids can vote for their most and least favorite films of 2009 (voting already underway), as well as their favorite feature film young actors on between March 12, 2010 and March 21, 2010. The winners will be announced March 22, 2010.

Same as the Oscar’s, the films which are nominated for the “Pick” of the Year Award are the best reviewed movies of 2009 according to the kid reviewers at KidsPickFlicks. The Ick of the Year Award is awarded to the most disappointing movie of the year, an “accolade” designed to send movie studios a message about what kids don’t appreciate in movies that appear to be made for them. The films nominated are based on the following criteria: G to PG-13 rated, top-rated film at time of nominee selection, a film that KidsPickFlicks’s staff thinks was accessible to kids, and has an initial release date between January 1, 2009 and December 31, 2009.

This year’s Pick of the Year Award nominees include 20th Century Fox’s Alvin & the Chipmunks: The Squeakuel, and Fox Searchlight’s Fantastic Mr. Fox, Sony Pictures’ Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, Warner Bros. production The Blind Side, and Disney Pictures’ The Princess & the Frog.

This year’s Ick of the Year Award nominees include Fox Searchlight production Amelia, Disneynature’s Earth, MGM’s Fame, a Universal Pictures production Land of the Lost, and a Warner Bros. production Where the Wild Things Are.

The 2009 Kid Actress of the Year nominees include Saiorse Ronan (The Lovely Bones), Chloe Moretz (500 Days of Summer), Anna Sophia Robb (Race to Witch Mountain), Jolie Vanier (Shorts), Sofia Vassilieva (My Sister’s Keeper), and Yara Shahidi (Imagine That).

The 2009 Kid Actor of the Year nominees include Taylor Lautner (The Twilight Saga: New Moon), Josh Hutcherson (The Vampire’s Assistant), Chris Massoglia (The Vampire’s Assistant), Jake T. Austin (Hotel for Dogs), Max Records (Where the Wild Things Are), and Jae Head (The Blind Side).

Be sure to head over to to cast your vote!